The LIST of European countries which open their borders for tourists!

From June 15, Germany will lift the travel ban for non-essential travel (for tourist purposes) in 31 European countries, including the United Kingdom, replacing it with individual travel warnings for each country. More information can be found HERE.

Tourists from EU countries or the Schengen area and the United Kingdom can spend their holidays in the Netherlands. However, they must follow Dutch advice and rules to combat COVID-19. You can find the rules to follow HERE.

Authorities have opened Austria’s borders since June 16 for a number of 31 countries, including: Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Germany, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Romania, Bulgaria, Poland, Greece, Cyprus and Italy. , Croatia, France, the Netherlands and Belgium, Denmark, Norway and Finland, Ireland and Iceland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, San Marino, Vatican, Luxembourg, Monaco, Andorra and Malta.


Starting on 15 June, Czech Republic opened its borders for tourists from the green labelled EU or Schengen zone countries (Bulgaria, Estonia, Finland, Croatia, Iceland, Cyprus, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxembourg, Hungary, Germany, Norway, Poland – most of the territory, Austria, Romania, Greece, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Denmark, France, Ireland, Italy, Malta, the Netherlands, Spain). They no longer need to show a negative Covid-19 test on the borders and quarantine won’t be required.

If a traveller is from an orange labelled country (Belgium, Great Britain) or a red one (Portugal, Sweden, Silesian region of Poland, All other countries), a test is still required on the borders.

Citizens of the following countries will be eligible to travel to Greece from 15 June: Albania, Australia, Austria, Northern Macedonia, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Switzerland, Estonia, Japan, Israel, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Hungary, Romania, New Zealand, Norway, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Czech Republic and Finland. More information can be found HERE.

The Bulgarian authorities lifted the entry ban on 22 May for countries in the European Union and the Schengen area, including San Marino, the Principality of Andorra, the Vatican City State and Monaco.

From 15 June, Switzerland will open its borders to all EU Member States, including the United Kingdom, as well as to citizens of the Schengen Associated Countries – Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland. More information HERE.

Travelers from the Schengen Area and the European Union, including the United Kingdom, will be eligible to enter Belgium from 15 June, as decided by the National Security Council. More details HERE.

France opened its borders on June 15. Isolation measures will not be mandatory for EU travel. However, such a measure may be required of persons arriving from countries requiring French citizens to be quarantined or to test negative for the COVID-19 test.

From 15 June, Iceland opened its borders to travel from the EU and the Schengen area, while offering everyone the opportunity to take Coronavirus tests as a way to avoid quarantine. More details AICI.

Italy has opened its borders since June 3, for EU tourists and the Schengen Area, without any restrictions. Only EU nationals from a third country will have to be quarantined for two weeks. Detailed information can be found HERE.

Lithuania has lifted an entry ban on citizens and legal residents of Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, the Czech Republic, Finland, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy and Latvia since 1 June, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Switzerland.

Estonia opened its borders on 1 June for residents of the Member States of the European Union / Schengen Area and the United Kingdom, while only some of them are subject to a 14-day quarantine. According to the rules, people coming to Estonia from an EU / Schengen country with a higher rate of infected people than 15 per 100,000 will have to stay in quarantine for two weeks upon arrival in Estonia.

From June 10, the borders of Slovakia are open to citizens of Liechtenstein, Germany, Switzerland, Croatia, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Greece, Malta, Estonia, Lithuania, Finland, Latvia, Denmark, Norway, Iceland, Austria, Hungary and the Republic. Rep. This means that the ban on entering Slovakia and the obligation to stay in quarantine have been removed for the citizens of these states. More details HERE.

The Slovenian authorities have decided that from 8 June, to allow entry for citizens of the following 17 countries: Austria, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Norway, Slovakia , Slovenia, Switzerland.

As of June 13, Poland’s borders have been opened to European Union countries. This means that any traveller in the EU will regain the right to enter freely, to leave and transit through the territory of Poland. There will be no obligation to quarantine.

The Cypriot authorities shall divide the countries whose nationals will be able to enter Cyprus as follows: the countries included in category A, whose nationals will be eligible to enter from 9 June, when the first stage begins, the following are: Malta, Greece, Bulgaria, Norway, Austria, Finland, Slovakia, Hungary, Israel, Denmark, Germany, Slovenia, Lithuania.
The countries included in category B, whose citizens will be eligible to enter from June 20, when the second stage begins, are the following: Switzerland, Czech Republic, Poland, Romania, Croatia, Estonia.

The inhabitants of Italy from two regions, Sicily and Sardinia, as well as those from the following 17 countries (Germany, Austria, Cyprus, Switzerland, Iceland, Slovakia, Norway, Denmark, Hungary, Finland, Ireland, Lithuania, Israel, Latvia, Estonia, Luxembourg and Czech Republic) will be able to enter the territory of Malta from 1 July.

From 21 June, Spain will give EU travellers permission to enter without the need for a quarantine, the exception being Portugal for which the restrictions will be lifted on 01 July.

Some Portuguese regional boards, including those in Madeira and Porto Santo, have announced their intention to restore access to international tourists from 1 July. Passengers will have to present the negative test results within 72 hours before departure or be tested on arrival, the costs being borne by the local administration.

Croatia has decided to reopen its borders for citizens of 10 European countries as Coronavirus cases have begun to decline. Croatia will soon allow citizens of Slovenia, Hungary, Austria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Germany to enter the country. Citizens of these Member States will be required to declare at the border certain additional data, such as destination, mobile phone number and e-mail address, in case they need to be contacted for epidemiological reasons.More info HERE.

The list will be updated for other states, as new measures regarding the opening of borders will be officially announced. Specific information for each European country you can find HERE.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.